2009 Plays of the Day/Week

 

 

 

 

 

 

Archived Plays of the Week (2008)

        Each week (or at least periodically) an interesting or unusual play will be presented for officials to discuss within their crews.  Referees are especially encouraged to make copies of the play and perhaps talk about it during travel to games or in the pregame conference.  If you have something unusual in one of your games, or see or hear about an unusual, thought-provoking play, please send it in for inclusion on the Website!  Just e-mail it to Ken Purcell at kp@coe.murraystate.edu.

 

Play of the Day/Week:  (Submitted 10/2/08 by Randy Fox)

This one actually happened in a WKC game this season: Owensboro used a "swinging-gate" formation on a try, but the lone wide receiver lined up on the line, thus covering up the center who was numbered #8.  When Hopkinsville was slow to react to the formation, Owensboro snapped the ball to the potential kicker who threw a quick pass to the center who had gone into the end zone.  The pass was complete for an apparent two-point conversion. What do you have?

Answer:  Illegal touching...no replay of the try, since the penalty includes loss of down.
 

 

 

 

 

Archived Plays of the Week (2007)

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:  (Submitted 10/24/07)

A1 receives the snap and begins a run behind the neutral zone: (a) A1 fumbles the ball and then kicks it while it is rolling on the ground; or (b) A1 advances beyond the neutral zone and either kicks or passes the ball forward.

 ___________________________________________

 Ruling: In (a), it is a foul during a loose-ball play and will be penalized from the spot of the illegal kick because it is a foul by A1 behind the basic spot.  In (b), it is a foul during a running play and it will be penalized from the spot of the illegal kick or illegal pass which is the end of the run.(10.3.1B)Casebook

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:

It is fourth and 10 for A from its own 15-yard line.  A1 fakes a kick and runs beyond the neutral zone and kicks the ball at the 20.  The kicked ball: (a) is caught by A2 at A's 30 and he is downed there; or (b) goes out of bounds at midfield; or (c)comes to rest on K's 45 and no player of either team will touch it, so the covering official will sound his whistle.

_________________________________

Ruling: The kick is illegal and the resulting loose ball is treated as a fumble.  The normal kicking rules and restrictions are not in effect during an illegal kick.  In (a), (b) and (c), if the penalty for the illegal kick is is declined, it will be A's ball first and 10 from the yard line where the ball became dead. If the penalty is accepted, it is enforced from the end of the run which is the spot of the illegal kick.(9.7.1b)casebook
 

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:


B1 intercepts on his own 4-yard line and his momentum takes him into B's end zone.  (a) B1 advances out of the end zone and runs to his own 35-yard line; or (b) B1 runs out of the end zone and then circles back into it and in both cases is downed there; or (c) B1 is hit and fumbles and A1 falls on the loose ball in the end zone; or (d) B2 holds A1 in the end zone as B1 is downed there.  

_____________________________________


Ruling: Legal advance in (a). In (b),it is a safety. Once B1 advances out of the end zone as in (a) or (b), the exceptions canceled and action thereafter dictates the result of the play.  Touchdown for A in (c). In (d), the foul by B2 occurred in the end zone behind the basic spot resulting in a safety.(8.5.2F)Casebook

 

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:

A1 throws a screen pass behind the neutral zone.  The pass is touched by B1 and continues in flight beyond the neutral zone: (a) A2 has gone downfield and blocks B2 before the pass is touched; or (b) ineligible A3 is downfield beyond the neutral zone before A1's pass is in flight.

-------------------------------

Ruling: Legal in both (a) and (b) because B1 touched the pass in or behind the neutral zone.(7.5.10G)Casebook

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:

SITUATION 5: During the last timed down of (a) the second quarter or (b) the fourth quarter, B1 commits a live-ball foul on a play in which A scores a touchdown. Can these fouls be carried over to a subsequent period?

------------------------------------------
 

RULING: No, the foul in (a) cannot carry to the second half, and the foul in (b) cannot be carried to the overtime or tie-breaking procedure. If the fouls are enforced, they would be administered as an untimed down as an extension of (a) the second quarter or (b) the fourth quarter. (3-3-3a; 8-2-2)
 

 Here's today's Play of the Day:

SITUATION 7: A1's pass on first and 10 from B's 40 is complete to A2 at B's 20. During the pass, A1 is roughed by B1. A2 advances to B's 10 where he fumbles the ball out of bounds into the end zone and over the end line.

_________________________________

RULING: If the penalty is accepted, it is administered from the end of A2's run which is B's 10-yard line. (9-4-4)

 

 

 Here's today's Play of the Day:

While K1's punt is in flight beyond the neutral zone, R2 (a) gives a valid fair catch signal, or (b) does not give a signal.  The ball strikes R2 on the shoulder and bounces high into the air.  While the loose ball is still airborne, K4 pushes R2 in the chest and K4 catches the ball at that spot.


-----------------------------


Ruling:  In both cases, the ball is dead when K4 catches it.  There is no foul for kick-catching interference since R2's protection ended when the kick was touched.

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:

SITUATION 4: Fourth and four on A's 35-yard line. K comes to the line in a scrimmage formation. After calling a few signals, A1 says "shift." All 11 players then make a movement. Some players move to a new position for a scrimmage-kick formation, while four interior linemen remain in place and move from a hands-on-thighs position to an upright position and finally to a three-point stance.

____________________________________________


RULING: This could be ruled a false start if the covering official(s) determine that it was designed to cause B to encroach. In judging the offensive team's intent, the officials should consider whether players move to a new position, the speed and abruptness of movement, down and distance and if any player pretends to have the ball or otherwise simulate action at the snap with the start of a play. (7-1-7; 7-2-6)

 

Here's today's Play of the Day:

During a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone, R1 gives a fair-catch signal.  He muffs the kick into the air where: (a)R1 catches it 5 yards in advance of his muff; or (b) K2 pushes R1 in an attempt to reach the ball; or (c) K3 tackles R1 following the muff, preventing R1 from catching the kick; or (d) R1 is blocked below the waist by K4 and K5 recovers.

_____________________________________


Ruling: In (a), R1 has made a fair catch and the ball will be put in play at the spot where the catch was completed.  In (b), the contact on R1 by K2 is legal because K may retain possession following the muff by R1.  In (c), it is a holding foul for K3 to tackle R1 following the muff, thus preventing him from reaching the ball.  The block by K4 is illegal in (d).  The fouls in (c) and (d) are fouls during a loose-ball play and the penalty, if accepted, will be administered from the previous spot and the down replayed. (6.5.2A)Casebook

--
POTD
(Play of the Day)



--
Pass the play of the day along to your fellow officials.  For signup instructions goto: http://nafoa.net/Home/PlayoftheDay/tabid/63/Default.aspx

 

PLAY:  Tilghman is in a scrimmage kick formation, fourth and five, from their own 40. A5 snaps the ball to A1. Immediately after releasing the ball and before he can look up, the snapper is directly blocked by the nose guard. The potential kicker muffs the snap, recovers the loose ball, and runs to midfield.


RULING:  Although the down ended with a running play, the foul occurred during a loose-ball play, the snap. If the penalty for roughing the snapper is accepted, it will be enforced 15 yards from the previous spot with an automatic first down for Tilghman. (9-4-6; 10-5-1)

(Randy Fox 8/22/07)
 

 

 

CASE BOOK PLAYS FROM 2007 WKC ALL-DAY WORKSHOP

 

Play 1 - During (a) Crittenden's run for a touchdown, or (b) Crittenden's field goal, Trigg’s defensive end holds the tight end.  What choices do you give the Crittenden captain?

 Ruling for Play 1: In (a), Crittenden will likely keep the score and may choose to enforce the foul on the try or enforce the foul on the ensuing kickoff.  In (b), they may keep the points and have the penalty enforced on the kickoff, or have the penalty enforced from the previous spot and replay the down. (Casebook 8.2.2) 

 

Play 2 - The opening kickoff by Marshall County: (a) is touched by Graves at their 5 yard line and goes out of bounds at the 8; or (b) is muffed by Graves at their 15 and then touched by a Marshall player before it rolls out of bounds at the 10 yard line; or (c) bounces out of bounds on Graves’ 30 yard line untouched.

Ruling for Play 2: In (a) and (b) the ball belongs to Graves at the inbounds spot.  In (c), it is a foul by Marshall.  Graves may take the ball at the inbounds spot, take the ball 25 yards beyond the previous spot, or accept the 5-yard penalty and have Marshall re-kick. (Casebook 6.1.8B)

  

Play 3 - When the ball is snapped from mid-field to Tilghman’s punter, their flanker is in an illegal position.  The scrimmage kick is caught by Lone Oak at their 15 yard line and advanced to their 30 where Lone Oak fumbles the ball and it is recovered at the 32 by Tilghman. During the return, there is clipping by a Lone Oak blocker at their 20.  What options do you give to the captains? 

Ruling for Play 3: No choices are given to the captains…it is a double foul.  Even though there was a change of team possession during the down, the team gaining final possession had fouled before gaining possession.  Both fouls occurred during the live-ball period and the result is a double foul.  The penalties cancel and the down shall be replayed. (Casebook 10.2.1B)

 

Play 4 – Fulton County’s wide receiver goes down field 10 yards and starts to block the Ballard Memorial safety.  The safety slaps the receiver on the side of the helmet in an effort to avoid the block.  What do you have?

Ruling for Play 4: Illegal personal contact.  The 15-yard penalty will be administered in accordance with the all-but-one principle.  Disqualification also if the foul is flagrant. (Casebook 9.4.7A)

 

Play 5 – Heath’s punt is partially blocked by Reidland in or behind the neutral zone and the ball then travels beyond the expanded neutral zone.  The Reidland deep receiver is sprinting upfield to catch the ball, but before he can get there, the ball bounces off the shoulder of a Heath player who is running downfield.  The rolling ball is then recovered by Heath.

Ruling for Play 5: Since Reidland’s initial touching is ignored, it is kick-catching interference by Heath, because a Reidland player was in position to catch the ball. (Casebook 6.5.6A)

  

Play 6 - Is it a legal shift if before the snap: (a) Fulton City’s guards and tackles go from a hands-on-knees position to a three-point stance; or (b) their running back misses the snap count and takes a half-step forward while going from an upright position to a four-point stance; or (c) Fulton’s quarterback takes a step forward and puts his hands under the center; or (d) the quarterback starts in an upright position as he looks over the defense, but then he bends his knees and puts his hands under center?

Ruling for Play 6: Yes, it is a legal shift in (a), (b), (c) and (d).  After the shift, all Fulton City players must remain set for at least one second prior to the snap or prior to one player going in motion.  Normal shoulder and head movements by the quarterback are not considered a shift. (Casebook 2.38)

  

Play 7 - Murray intercepts Mayfield’s pass in Murray’s end zone. While Murray’s interceptor is thinking about running the ball out of the end zone, a Murray blocker clips a Mayfield player at the 10 yard line.  The runner is then hit while still in the end zone and fumbles the ball.  It rolls into the field of play and then out of bounds at the 2 yard line.  What options do you give the Mayfield captain?

 Ruling for Play 7:  The penalty is enforced under the all-but-one principle.  The end of the run is the goal line and, in this special case, the basic spot is therefore the 20-yard line.  The foul occurred behind the basic spot (taking into consideration the change of possession), so it would be enforced from the spot of the foul…half the distance, first and 10 for B on the 5-yard line. However, the result of the play is Murray’s ball at the 2, so Mayfield will probably decline the penalty. (Casebook 10.4.5H)

 

Play 8 - With fourth and 4 from mid-field, Caldwell runs to Graves' 40 and then throws an incomplete forward pass.  What are the options you give to the Graves caption?  When will you start the clock?

Ruling for Play 8: If Graves declines the penalty, it will be Caldwell’s ball first and 10 from the 40.  If they accept the 5-yard penalty for the illegal forward pass, it will still be a first down for Caldwell, but from the 45 yard line.  The loss of down part of the penalty has no significance since the succeeding spot is beyond the line to gain and a new series is awarded. In either case, the clock will start with the snap since it was stopped due to an incomplete forward pass. (Casebook 5.2.2B)

 

Play 9 – Marshall has the ball 3rd and 15 from their own 20.  They are leading the game by 6 points with 35 seconds left in the fourth quarter. They gain 10 yards and fumble.  An official inadvertently sounds his whistle prior to the ball rolling out of bounds at the 33 yard line.  At the time of the whistle, there are 23 seconds showing on the clock.  Marshall elects to take the result of the play with the next down being 4th and 5 from the 30.  The clock starts on the ready and Marshall allows it to run out without snapping the ball.  What do you have?

Ruling for Play 9: The period shall be extended for an untimed down and Marshall must put the ball legally in play. (Casebook 3.3.3C)

  

Play 10 - A Fulton City pass into the end zone is possessed by their eligible receiver while he is in the air.  He looses control when he is contacted by the Trigg County defender while still in the air.  The ball (a) falls to the ground; or (b) is caught by another Fulton City receiver in the end zone; or (c) is intercepted and downed by a Trigg player in the end zone.

Ruling for Play 10:  In (a), the pass is incomplete.  In (b), it is a touchdown for Fulton City and in (c), it is a touchback for Trigg. (Casebook 7.5.2E)

  

Play 11 - Erroneously, the chains are set before enforcement of a dead-ball foul instead of following enforcement.  Up to what point can this be corrected?

Ruling for Play 11: Once the ball is legally snapped, it is too late.(Casebook 5.1.1B)

  

Play 12 - Heath punts the ball from a fourth and 10 situation.  Ballard’s deep receiver catches the kick and returns 10 yards.  During the down, but prior to the catch, Heath’s center holds his opponent.  Ballard accepts the foul.  When will the clock be started?

Ruling for Play 12: After enforcement, the clock starts on the ready-for-play signal. (Casebook 3.4.2D)

  

Play 13 - On a scrimmage kick, the Marshall linebacker is 1 1/2 yards behind his line of scrimmage when he jumps up and deflects the kick.  The linebacker (a) was, or (b) was not driven off the line of scrimmage by a block.  Is the touching of the kick ignored?

Ruling for Play 13: In both (a) and (b), the touching of a low scrimmage kick is ignored.  Whether a player was or was not blocked into the expanded zone does not affect this ruling.  The neutral zone is automatically expanded 2 yards behind the defensive line of scrimmage on scrimmage kicks.(Casebook 2.27.2B)

  

Play 14 - During the last timed down of the first half, the Crittenden QB retreats into his own end zone to attempt a pass, but is downed there.  During the down there is holding in the end zone by: (a) a Crittenden offensive lineman who is protecting his QB, or (b) a Graves defensive player on a running back to keep him from going wide to receive a screen pass.

Ruling for Play 14: In (a), it is a safety and Graves would score 2 points whether the penalty is accepted or declined since the run ended in the end zone and the foul was in the end zone.  If Graves accepts the penalty, the period is extended with an untimed down and Crittenden must free kick to Graves. In (b), if the penalty is accepted it will be enforced from the goal line and the period is extended. (Casebook 10.5.4B)

 

Play 15 - During an official's time-out for injury, may a player(s) of either team go near the sideline to communicate with the coach?

Ruling for Play 15: Yes, this is a period between downs.  If a coach enters the field to attend the injured player, he may not confer with players. (Casebook 9.8.1M)

  

Play 16 - Tilghman's pass on fourth and 15 from their 40 is complete at midfield.  During the pass, the Tilghman QB is roughed by a Lone Oak rusher.  The receiver advances to the Lone Oak 30 where he fumbles the ball out of bounds at Lone Oak’s: (a) 28, or (b) 32-yard line.  What are the penalty options and when do you start the clock?

Ruling for Play 16:  In both (a) and (b), if the penalty is accepted, it is administered from the end of A2's run which is B's 30-yard line. (Casebook 9.4.4C)  The clock will start on the snap since the ball going out of bounds caused the clock to stop.

 

Play 17 - With second and 5 from Fulton County’s 30 yard line, Fulton County throws a long pass to their eligible receiver.  Following the reception, the receiver inadvertently grasps the Ballard defender’s face mask at the Ballard 15 yard line.  The receiver avoids the tackle and scores a touchdown. 

Ruling for Play 17:  If Ballard accepts the penalty for the inadvertent grasping of the face mask, the score is nullified.  Following the penalty enforcement, it will be Fulton County's ball first and 10 at Ballard's 20 yard line. (Casebook 9.4.3G)

  

Play 18 - With third and 7 from Mayfield's 25 yard line, the Mayfield running back advances to the 35 where he fumbles the ball.  Before he fumbled, a Mayfield blocker held the Ballard defender at Mayfield’s 40 yard line.  The loose ball is bounced around but recovered by Mayfield at their 30 yard line.  If Ballard accepts the penalty for holding, where will the basic spot for penalty enforcement be?

Ruling for Play 18:  The basic spot is the spot where the run ended, which is Mayfield's 35-yard line. The replay therefore would still have Mayfield with third and 7 from its own 25 yard line. (Casebook 10.4.3A)

 

Play 19 - Third and 10 for Marshall from Graves’ 40 yard line.  Marshall’s pass is intercepted at Graves’ 20 and returned to midfield.  A different Marshall receiver accidentally steps on the sideline at Graves’ 30; (a) before, or (b) after the interception.  In both cases, this receiver returns inbounds at the next step, but does not make any attempt to catch the ball or tackle the Graves runner.

Ruling for Play 19: In (a), it is an illegal participation foul at the spot the receiver came back inbounds because his foul occurred prior to the interception.  No foul in (b) because the receiver did not go out of bounds until after the change of possession. (Casebook 9.6.1B)

 

 

 

Archived Plays of the Week (2006)

        Each week (or at least periodically) an interesting or unusual play will be presented for officials to discuss within their crews.  Referees are especially encouraged to make copies of the play and perhaps talk about it during travel to games or in the pregame conference.  If you have something unusual in one of your games, or see or hear about an unusual, thought-provoking play, please send it in for inclusion on the Website!  Just e-mail it to Ken Purcell at kp@coe.murraystate.edu.



Christian County has the ball, 1st and 10 on Hopkinsville's 8-yard line.  They call a QB option and the QB keeps the ball and turns upfield and gains a few yards.  At the three-yard line, he turns and flips the ball backward to his trailing back in an attempt to get the extra yards on the outside and score.  However, with the backward pass still in flight, the Hoptown defender lunges for the ball to make an interception and the ball ricochets off his shoulder pads and bounces into the end zone and then out of bounds behind the goal line.  What do you have?
 

(Submitted by Randy Fox,  9/25/06)


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fulton County ball, 3rd and 10 from the 50.  Fulton County's running back breaks a long run for a TD.  However, offensive holding is called at the line of scrimmage and the play is called back to assess the penalty.

When does the clock start?

(Submitted by Randy Fox,  9/11/06)


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Heath has the ball on the Lone Oak 30-yard line, first and 10.  There are only 12 seconds left in the game, Heath has no more time outs, and is trailing by a score of 16 - 12.

Heath throws a pass towards the sideline which is caught by A88, who is about to be tackled in-bounds at the 23 yard line, short of the line-to-gain.  A88 deliberately throws the ball out of bounds at the 25 to stop the clock.

What do you have?
(Submitted by Randy Fox,  9/5/06)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tilghman's ball 3rd and 10 from their own 40.  While in his pass route, tight end A2 is held by Hopkinsville's defender B1 at the 50.  Tilghman's quarterback is tackled for a loss at the 35.  What is the down and distance of the next play if the penalty is accepted?

What would it be if the quarterback had thrown an incomplete pass?  What if the referee judges the pass was made illegally to avoid taking the loss?

What would it be if a pass had been completed to wide receiver A3 at the 50 and he was downed at Hopkinsville's 40?

When would the clock start in each of the above scenarios?

(Submitted by Lee Thistlewaite, 8/21/06)
 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Murray High School has the ball on Ballard's ten-yard line.  Third and goal.  A1 passes over the middle to A2 who is running across the back of the end zone.  A2 leaps and catches the ball and his hands hit the goalpost support padding as he catches the ball.  He then lands with his first foot inbounds but the second foot out of bounds.  What is the call?

Is your answer different, if while A2 is in the air, Ballard's defender hits A2 after he possess the pass and that hit causes A2 to hit the goal post and come down out of bounds.  

What if hitting the goal post in the any of these cases, causes A2 to drop the ball before coming down?

(Submitted by Kerry Henson, 8/14/06)
 

 

Back to WKC Home